posted by Thomas on Oct 27
I was quickly eyeballing my comments making sure there wasn’t a real comment stuck in the spam before I deleted them all when for .0008 of a second my heart jumped.
I had a comment from Bill Nighy.
I adore Bill Nighy. I saw him eating at Circus once and luckily I wasn’t drunk so I didn’t go to his table and tell him how much I love him. I am sad to say I haven’t seen him on stage yet. My love is from his performance as the washed up rock star in Love Actually: “Hiya kids. Here is an important message from your Uncle Bill. Don’t buy drugs. Become a pop star, and they give you them for free.” As well as some smaller indie films. (Rent I Capture The Castle today. Is a lovely adaptation of the Dodie Smith novel. Then go read the novel for 101 Dalmations which I remember loving when I was ten. Much better than Walt Disney.)
So an actor I adore has left a comment on my stupid little blog!
I looked closer.
Bill Nighy | wwedivasws@gmail.com | bill-nighy.info | IP: 64.22.107.90
Hi thereā¦Man i love reading your blog, interesting posts ! it was a great Wednesday
It was spam. Bill Nighy spam.
I love Bill but I think this is even odder spam than the Best Cat Litter Boxes.
October 27th, 2007 at 5:30 pm
I love spam. Mine veers towards the intellectual…the last three were signed Dionyssios, Sophocles, and Leontios.
Of course they were all pimping cars. Perhaps employment is difficult to find in ancient Greece?
October 29th, 2007 at 4:39 am
I got a comment from the same spammer. I Googled the email address and it brought me to your site, which is fun. But, my spammer said he was Bruce Campbell, a B-movie actor. I couldn’t even get a headlining spammer. Noooo-ho-ho, I get the second rate loser-actor guy. Drats.
October 29th, 2007 at 7:53 am
LOL- Although I have heard that he is good as Elvis in Bubba Ho-Tep.
October 29th, 2007 at 7:09 pm
Hey there, I got spam from Bill Nighy, though I’m not sure what was being sold as the web link is to bill nighy’s site. How strange!
October 31st, 2007 at 8:30 pm
i found this site after googling that guy’s email. he used the same email address to comment on my blog. weird. guess he does one seemingly relevant (albeit a bit unusual) post to see if comments are automatically approved?
November 1st, 2007 at 6:36 pm
i got the same comment, but mine was from jessica stam…and updated to say great thursday. (also i found your site googling that email address…funny!) i only get dirty spam. i could really use a great catbox, though!
November 7th, 2007 at 8:31 am
On mine he was Andy Garcia. I guess the trick is that once he has a non-spammy email moderated he’s got more chance of a second, spammy message getting through.
November 8th, 2007 at 2:45 am
Add me to the list. Mine was Kristin Holt on Tuesday.
November 26th, 2007 at 5:09 am
On my website the spam bot posted as Jennifer Hawkins… the funny thing is I wrote her name wrongly on my website: it was typed like Jennifer HawkinGs… But to my “amazininess” the bot got it right, it typed Jennifer Hawkins (with no G)…
That was where all started for me, as I went for google to see if I had a typo error or not, once I noticed the Spammer was right, I tried to search for her email to check if was a spam or some kind of amazing event where the Miss Universe had found my blog… lol
Ended up here laughing my ass off.
I have a small clue it is google crawler doing, as I barely sent a ping today and received that comment.
November 26th, 2007 at 4:45 pm
Wonder who is begin the google crawler and what the point is:)
My spam was from Billy Martin:)
George
December 12th, 2007 at 3:33 pm
Add me to the list; I found your site via an IP address Google search, so thanks.
The spammer was Billy Bob Thornton on my site. Certainly a diverse group of fake celebrities, this guy/gal!
December 16th, 2007 at 9:32 am
Gutted.
Your spam is Bill Nighy, mine from the same address is Lisa Snowdon.
x
December 19th, 2007 at 6:13 pm
Mine was from Rihanna at the same address, and my blog is pretty much hidden from public view. Impressive crawling ability.
December 28th, 2007 at 11:13 pm
My celebrity was Lauren Hutton (same last name as my own). A website was even offered: http://www.lauren-hutton.info/lauren-hutton/lauren-hutton-makeup.htm.
Of course, real one is: http://www.laurenhutton.com/
I mention that because Lauren’s pics were copied from her site. At least one of the two was… not sure where they got the other, which was obviously from the same photo shoot. I guess that officially crosses over into the shadowy netherworlds of copyright infringement. (cue scary music)
Anyway, I googled the email from whence the comment came: wwedivasws@gmail.com and ended up on this blog.
Such an odd variety of spammage.
Such alot of time someone has on their hands.
I’m amused to see others have been likewise visited.
January 5th, 2008 at 11:21 pm
Add me to the list. My comment spam from this spammer was from “Nina Moric”. Seems the spammer is branching out to models too.
January 5th, 2008 at 11:55 pm
[...] did a Google search on “wwedivasws” and found this post, “Bill Nighy Spam“. I added a comment there about my post from [...]
January 14th, 2008 at 4:56 pm
Ours came from sexy foodie Nigella Lawson. Bizarro. Linked to a rather unsexy clone of Lawson’s own site that pointedly had the n-u-d-e word in the biographical info. (One way to attract hits I guess.)
January 17th, 2008 at 12:07 am
Me too. I got two! I have one from Brendan Fraser and one from some VJ. The dude is good, though: he said “always enjoy the view from roots Canada”–which was kind of what my entry was about.
January 19th, 2008 at 3:26 am
Mine was Bonnie Hunt! Which has nothing to do with dogs in Boston (my site).
I ran a WHOIS on the IP address… does this help??
OrgName: Global Net Access, LLC
OrgID: GNAL-2
Address: 1100 White St SW
City: Atlanta
StateProv: GA
PostalCode: 30310
Country: US
ReferralServer: rwhois://rwhois.gnax.net:4321
NetRange: 64.22.64.0 – 64.22.127.255
CIDR: 64.22.64.0/18
OriginAS: AS3595, AS16626
NetName: GNAXNET
NetHandle: NET-64-22-64-0-1
Parent: NET-64-0-0-0-0
NetType: Direct Allocation
NameServer: DNS1.GNAX.NET
NameServer: DNS2.GNAX.NET
NameServer: NS1.GNAX.NET
NameServer: NS2.GNAX.NET
Comment: ADDRESSES WITHIN THIS BLOCK ARE NON-PORTABLE
Comment: ********************************************
Comment: Reassignment information for this block is
Comment: available at rwhois.gnax.net port 4321
Comment: ********************************************
RegDate: 2006-07-13
Updated: 2007-06-01
January 27th, 2008 at 9:12 pm
I have just done the same thing you did – except, with the same email address, it purports to be from Nigella Lawson?!? As you say, bizarre!